Constitutional amendments needed for Southern Punjab province, says FM Qureshi

Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi on Wednesday said that constitutional amendments were needed for the formation of southern Punjab province that will include Multan, Bahawalpur and Dera Ghazi Khan.

He said, amendments to Articles 59, 51, 1, 106, 158 and 218 of the constitution will be undertaken and province would come into being through Article 51.

The territories Multan, Bahawalpur and Dera Ghazi Khan that will be part of southern Punjab have been named in the proposed bill.

The Southern Punjab province will also get representation in the Senate and have its own high court and chief justice.

He said the Punjab Assembly seats would eventually be decreased to 251 and 120 seats would be added to southern Punjab Assembly.

The foreign minister also held a meeting with the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) leadership for support and received a positive response, reports said.

He said, it will strengthen the federation.